Japan is crazy and beautiful and wonderful and I feel like we're really going to enjoy our time here. Saturday our sponsors, Cheryl and Sean, took us out and about a little bit and we had so much fun! First we set up our phones (woot, woot we finally joined the iPhone crowd!), got some yen, then went to lunch out in town. We went to Chatan Linya and had some pretty awesome ramen. I cannot wait to go back! It was so yummy! We took our shoes off, sat on the floor and ate at a small table. I found that I'm gong to have to become a pro with chopsticks very soon!
Afterwards we wandered American Village, which has a massive store. It was kind of like a mall, but it's all open with very few shops having their own walls. I found some decently priced produce. Fruit at the commissary is so expensive: $3/lb for bananas, $4 for 1/4 pint (quart)of blueberries, $2.50/lb peppers, $3.50/lb apples... The fruit at the mall thing was like $2.50 for 1/4 thing of blueberries, $3 for strawberries... still kind of expensive, but better than the comm. I'm looking forward to going to their farmer's market.
We wandered around the shopping center for quite a while looking at all their fun stuff. I was kind of nervous about taking photos, so I only took a couple. I don't know the customs yet, so I am trying not to be rude. Side note: apparently tipping is considered rude. I feel like I'm stealing when I walk away from the restaurant without tipping. It's so strange.
After the market, (OH! we had some AWESOME juice with boba- so yummy) we went over to get frozen yogurt. They have a shoppe that's a lot like the yogurt heaven we had in SD, so the Mr. is happy. Then we wandered around the rest of American Village and by the sea wall/ beach. You can see a 'flash mob' they did in 2011 here.
K loved every moment of it-- there was so much for her to explore. The people here love her. It's so cute how much attention they pay to her.
The (native) children here are so polite. When we went to lunch K saw a little boy (about 6 years old) and walked up and stood behind him. He turned around and accidentally knocked her on her bum. He immediately picked her back up and spoke to her apologetically. I have no idea what he was saying, but you could tell he felt badly. He bowed his head and comforted her. It was so cute.
Sunday we took it pretty easy since we were still jet lagged. We went on another run to the commissary, played in the playroom and went to dinner at Macaroni Grill (yuck). Monday, we went to this mega thrift store, then to dinner at this fantastic place where they bring you all-you-can-eat meat/veggies that you grill yourself. I love dining out here. It's so different from home. Then we had ice cream and wandered American Village again. It seems more festive at night because there are Christmas-like lights everywhere.
Today, we took it easy, looked at a couple cars, went to the px, did some laundry...
I am really looking forward to getting settled and getting into a schedule. I really miss having a routine. I'm also really looking forward to getting a license. It's so hard not having a car and freedom!
Tomorrow, the Mr and I are going to the Newcomer Orientation Brief. K is being watched by our sponsor and I'm a little nervous because it's the first time she will be left for that long when she's not being watched by my family. I hope it goes well, but I'm going to have to get used to my family not being around.
Lee-it sounds like you're having a great time! :) I'm so glad that you're updating, and I'm LOVING hearing about Japan. A bit jealous of your adventures :)
ReplyDelete