Wednesday, May 30, 2012

Freedom!


We had a busy day today!  We were out the door and at the newcomer's brief by 7a.  It was 6 hours of a lot of information.  Most of it stressed how we're ambassadors and that any incident that might be considered trivial in the States could become an international headline quite easily.  Kind of seems like a no-brainer, but they stressed it over and over, so it must be an issue.
What I loved most today was the culture segment.  We learned just a few things, but it is so interesting to me!  For instance, they have different ways of pointing to themselves (they point to their nose instead of to their chest), calling people over to them (we wave palm up; they wave palm down, as though they were looking through a filing cabinet) 'saying' excuse me (no one says excuse me, you just put your hand up perpendicular to your chest and bow your head), as well as some common phrases:  Konnichiwa (good afternoon), Doomo arigatoo Gozaiamsu (Thank you very much), Itadakimasu (before eating) Sumi masen (excuse me) and how to say McDonald's, cheesburger (cheeseborger lol) and a few other random things.
We took the Japanese driving test today.  I was so nervous and I studied. a lot.  I hate "rules of the road" tests.  I had butterflies the entire time I was taking the test.  Somehow, I passed.  The Mr did not study at all.  He passed.  Show off.  But passing means we are closer to FREEDOM!!!  Our sponsors have been incredibly supportive and fantastic, but nothing compares to being able to get in your own vehicle and just go and do and explore!
After we got our licenses taken care of The Mr and Sean (The Mr's sponsor) went and got haircuts while I wandered around the 'market' at the PX (the exchange).
I have been terribly guilty about not being very descriptive about what exactly we're experiencing over here-- more just listing what we're doing.  I know I am not conveying how much I am falling in love with the culture here.  It is so laid back here yet they are respectful.  Okinawans tend to be rather conservative and as much as they are trendy they are traditional.  I wandered the exchange and with every kimono, tea set, rice bowl set, coin purse, and piece of furniture my interest and desire to learn more about where I am grew exponentially.   I am sad that I am away from our friends and family, but at the same time I feel like 3 years just won't be long enough. crazy.
This morning the speakers also lightly touched on the million and one things there are to do here.  Between the snorkeling/scuba diving, castles, cultural events, and traveling we have a very full and exciting 'to do' list.  I really hope we make the most of our time here!

K did really well with Cheryl (Sean's wife) today, which was a huge relief and made me hopeful that we'll be able to have a social life.  Seems silly, but I've pretty much relied on family and wives from our last office (Cheri or Katie) to babysit.  When I had someone other than my parents watching K she was usually sleeping.  So leaving her for 8 hours when she was to spend most of that time awake today with someone we just met (we have really enjoyed our time with her) was rather difficult.

Random Japanese law that I LOVE: If you get into a car with someone who is legally drunk (BAC is .03 ... yep, point zero-three!!) you are just as guilty of a DUI as the driver!  Also, DUIs .03-.08 are punishable by up to 3 years in prison and $5,000 fine and the punishments only get more severe as the BAC increases.

Random USMC admin policy that I LOVE: If your juvenile is assigned community service for a 'bad behavior' the Inspector General views it as a cry for attention from the child and requires the parent to 'supervise' their child's community service.  They even assign parents to have 24 hour supervision of their child, which means if the child has school then the parent goes with them or the child goes to work with the parent.  How awesome is that?!  I wish they did that in the States.  I think a lot of bullying and YouTube videos would come to a halt rather quickly.

Our next couple weeks are going to be very busy.  What kind of things are you all interested in reading about? If anyone reads this, that is :)

Tomorrow:
Commissary
Assemble Typhoon Preparedness kit
BUY MY CAR!! woohoo!

Coming Up:
Go to Housing Office-- hopefully get our new home this week
Go to Tricare office
Hoping to get over to the FRO and through LINKS
Basic Japanese class (starts June 5)
Oshibana class (June 15)
Origami class (June 25)
Uruma Grocery Store tour (June 14) I'm all about trying to get local produce!!
Fridays is 'lapsit' at the library.  Not sure what this is, but it's for K's age and that little girl needs some friends!  They also have Play mornings on thursdays, but I am unsure where that is.

I really want to find a farmer's market in the very near future.  I'm really nervous about driving on the left-hand side, especially off-base!

ok need to go to bed.  g'night!

No comments:

Post a Comment