K and I passed medical, so now we're working on the million things to move....
Just got home from a PCS brief. It was more frustrating/ confusing than it was helpful. I did learn that we are allowed to bring 2,000 lbs of our stuff. Looks like we'll be selling a lot of our stuff!
We'll be taking a flight (unclear on if it's a military or commercial flight) to Seattle which will then take us to Japan. Here's the frustrating part: We are not guaranteed that Addy will be able to come with us on the AMC (I asked The Mr what AMC meant, but I forgot) flight. Once we get to Japan we will be put in temporary housing until we are given our permanent housing. We could potentially be assigned housing that does not accept pets, so Addy would need to find a home. My parents have offered to take her if we can't bring her, but I feel like if I leave her somewhere for 3 years then she's no longer our dog. She'll be 2 in April and if we leave her here then she will have spent half her life without us. I don't think that's very fair to her. They should just tell military not to get pets. It's not fair to them and I didn't know that we wouldn't be able to bring here wherever we went.
I also found out I need to have a no-fee passport in addition to my leisure passport. It's kind of like my green card to be there. I went to the JRC (joint reception center-- see, military loves acronyms!) to find out what documents I need for the no-fee passport and this gal went crazy with her highlighter. It was kind of funny. She basically highlighted everything that was typed out in this packet. It reminded me of when I would flip through the used textbooks in college and whole chapters were highlighted. I always wondered who those people were. Now I know! :)
No comments:
Post a Comment